Press Report Foundation Day 2017

July 5, 2017 Mumbai

Shreemati Nathibai Damodar Thackersey Women's University (SNDT WU) completed 101 years today. The celebrations of Centennial year had begun since July 2014 and this brings to an end of the centennial celebrations with three programmes across three campuses of the university.

Churchgate programme was held at the Sir Sitaram and Lady Shantabai Patkar Deekshant Sabhagriha at 11am. Shri. Vinod Tawde, Honourable Minister for Higher and technical education, School Education & Sports, Youth welfare, Minority Development, Marathi Bhasha & culture, Government of Maharashtra was the Chief Guest of the function. Shri Sudhir Thackersey, chairman Emeritus- Hindoostan Mills Ltd. aas guest of honour. Maharshi Kurve uttkrusht shikshak and shikshketar purskar were also given to two teaching and one non-teaching employees of the university.

Honourable Vice Chancellor Prof. Shashikala Wanjari presided over the foundation Day function. Making her speech she highlighted that SNDTWU does not harp for unnecessary attention but works silently in illuminating numerous lives. **Shri Sudhir Thackersey** expressed his delight for the pioneering work done by the University and announced grant of Rs. 10 Lac to the Bhaubeej Nidhi in the memory of Sri Vithaldas Thackersey. **Shri. Vinod Tawde** expressing his happiness about contribution of SNDTWU's pioneering work strongly articulated that academic autonomy of the universities need to be protected and research need to be given high priority in education. He urged the need to have excellence with relevance.

Bhaubeej Nidhi in the memory of Sri Vithaldas Thackersey was launched with the initial contribution by madam Vice Chancellor and Registrar along with Shri Tawde announcing contributions to the Nidhi from three members of his family. The 2017-18, the Nidhi is proposed with minimum of 25,000 Rs. Donation from any person which will be used for the economically poor women students for scholarship, research support, hostel or mess bills to support their higher education.

On this occasion seven alumni members, Ms Neelam Pol (Usha Mittal Institute of Technology), Mrs Swapana Joshi and Ms Tesea Joseph (LT College of Nursing), Mayuri Burve, Rubina Siddiqui (SVT College of Home Science), Neha Mehta and Priti Shah (PV Polytechnic) were felicitated for their contributions to the field of social and human development.

Pune Campus programme is scheduled for 6th July at 10.30 am where Dr Dhanraj Mane, Director Higher Education will be the chief guest. Shri Rajesh Pande, President National Yuva Cooperative Society and Director Telematic Comsee Pvt Ltd will be Guest of Honour. Dr Anand Karve, Founder Appropriate Rural Technologies and Ms Vishvanjali Gaikawad, IAS are special invitees. Juhu campus programme has been organized in form of tree plantation on 7th July at 10.30am. Dr Kishor Kshirsagar, Deputy Municipal Commissioner, Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation will be the chief guest and Shri Harish G Jamthe Divisional Labour Welfare officer will be the guest of honour.